Firm Logo
954-525-2345

Fort Lauderdale Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Accident Lawyers

Skilled Car Accident Attorneys Protect The Rights Of Clients Injured In Uninsured And Underinsured Motorist Accidents In Broward County And Palm Beach County, Florida

If you drive in Florida, there is a good likelihood that you are driving alongside a motorist who does not have car insurance. More than a quarter of Florida drivers — 26.7 percent — are uninsured, earning Florida the number one spot in a ranking of the greatest number of uninsured motorists in a state. This statistic is in spite of the fact that having insurance is a state requirement. Given that so many Florida drivers are uninsured or underinsured, navigating Florida’s car insurance laws after a car accident is particularly challenging. The skilled Fort Lauderdale Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Accident Lawyers at Lawlor, White & Murphey have in-depth knowledge of Florida’s car insurance laws and they are dedicated to protecting the rights of those who have been injured in a motor vehicle accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist. 

Get Free Advice From An Experienced Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Accident Lawyer. All You Have To Do Is Call 954-525-2345 or Fill Out Our Free Case Evaluation Form.

Why It Is Important For All South Florida Motorists To Purchase Uninsured Motorist Insurance 

Uninsured motorist insurance provides protection for drivers if they should have an accident with another driver who is uninsured or underinsured. Uninsured motorist insurance is purchased as part of the driver’s own automobile insurance policy, and this policy provides coverage for injuries that occur in accidents when the at-fault driver is uninsured. 

Uninsured motorist insurance provides protection for the policyholder and any relatives that live with them, as well as any passengers that were in the vehicle at the time the accident took place. Florida motorists are required by law to have a minimum of $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) insurance and $10,000 property damage liability. In situations where a motor vehicle accident causes serious injuries, the $10,000 no-fault PIP insurance may be insufficient to cover medical bills and other losses. In these situations, the uninsured motorist insurance coverage provides protection. 

Uninsured motorist insurance provides coverage for the following losses:

  • Bills for medical treatment
  • Disability
  • Emotional trauma
  • Emotional pain and suffering
  • Lost weight is
  • Long-term nursing care
  • Replacement services for tasks that the injured party is no longer able to perform

When a policyholder purchases uninsured motorist insurance, they may select a limit for coverage.  however, the policyholder may not select a coverage limit that is higher than the bodily injury liability that was chosen. Uninsured motorist insurance does not cover physical damage to the vehicle. 

Find Out What Your Case Is Worth – Call 954-525-2345 or Fill Out Our Free Case Evaluation Form.

Underinsured Motorist Insurance Coverage Provides Protection For Motorists In South Florida And Throughout The State

When you’re purchasing your automobile insurance, you may see “underinsured motorist coverage” as an option and wonder whether it is really something you need. It is. Underinsured motorist insurance coverage provides critical protection if you are in a car accident and have suffered an injury.

Here is how underinsured motorist insurance coverage works: if you are in a motor vehicle accident and the at-fault driver does not have sufficient automobile liability insurance to cover the losses that you have sustained, your underinsured motorist coverage provides protection. Underinsured motorist coverage is designed to provide protection for medical expenses and property damages that are above the insurance coverage limits provided by the at-fault party’s insurance policy.

Here is an example of how this works: you are in a car accident and your medical bills total $25,000 and the property damage to your vehicle totals $10,000. Your total losses are $35,000. The at-fault driver carries liability insurance but their insurance policy limit is $10,000. In other words, the at-fault driver is underinsured. So what happens to the $25,000 that is not covered by the at-fault driver’s insurance policy? In this scenario, you would need to file an underinsured motorist claim on your own car insurance policy to recover damages.

★★★★★

“If you’re looking for an Attorney that will fight for you then you should check out Lawyer White and Murphey. They care about you, they care about what is right. They work hard to help you with your case. They become your family not just your attorney. If You come to me and ask me do I know a lawyer I will always recommend Lawlor White and Murphey. ”

ERICA MEDLAR / Client

★★★★★

“Thank you so much. It will forever be my pleasure to recommend Anthony White as an extremely qualified attorney who can handle your case! Thank you Melissa, Andrea and Angie – you ladies are fantastic!”

ISKRA D. / Client

★★★★★

“I can sincerely say that you will never find a better practice. Their expertise and legal knowledge make this firm a professional standout. I highly recommend them!!!!”

VIENNA B. / Client

Fort Lauderdale Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Accident Lawyers at Lawlor, White & Murphey Successfully Recover Compensation For Clients Injured In Car Accidents With Uninsured Or Underinsured Motorists 

If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident that was caused by another person or entity’s negligent behavior, personal injury law provides protection. When an individual has been injured in a motor vehicle accident, they may file a personal injury claim to recover compensation for their medical expenses, future medical treatment that is a result of the car accident, property damage, and pain and suffering. 

In pursuing a personal injury claim, it is important to note the legal time limits for filing. Every state establishes its own legal deadlines, known as “ statute of limitations”, which apply to filing claims in a state’s civil courts. In the state of Florida, the statute of limitations for personal injury claims is four years from the date of the accident. Personal injury claims that are filed after this four year deadline has expired will have their motor vehicle accident claim dismissed by the Florida courts. If this should happen, then the injured party will have lost their opportunity to recover any compensation for the damages that they sustained in their car accident. 

Experienced Fort Lauderdale Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Accident Lawyers Protect The Rights Of Injured Victims In South Florida

If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist, the claims process can be particularly challenging. Let us help. 

At Lawlor, White & Murphey, our experienced legal team is dedicated to protecting the rights of accident victims in Florida. Lawlor, White & Murphey is recognized as one of the best personal injury firms in the nation. Our skilled personal injury attorneys have been helping Florida families for more than 55 years combined, driven by a desire to protect those in our community who have been harmed and to hold those responsible accountable for their actions.

At Lawlor, White & Murphey, we offer a free case evaluation for accident victims. An experienced member of our personal injury team will meet with you to assess the merits of your case, explain the process, discuss Florida’s personal injury laws, and answer any questions you may have. Schedule your complimentary confidential case evaluation today.

Areas Nearby in Broward County:

Areas Nearby in Palm Beach County:

Lawlor, White and Murphey have office locations available by appointment located at:

Contact one of our offices today for a free consultation.

Frequently Asked Questions About Car Accident Claims

What should I do if I’m in a car accident in Florida?

Why should I hire an attorney quickly after a car accident?

What types of car accident cases does your firm handle?

What are some things your law firm will do for victims of car accidents that others might not?

Will your law firm help with the insurance company after a car accident?

What resources does the firm have for car accident cases?

What are no-fault accidents in Florida?

$1.7M
Settlement /
Medical Malpractice
$2.0M
Settlement /
Slip & Fall Injury
$3.0M
Recovery /
Medical Malpractice
$1.2M
Verdict /
Slip & Fal Injury
8362 Pines Boulevard, #410*Pembroke Pines, Florida 33024(954) 525-2345map + directions
3014 Indian Trace, #164*Weston, Florida 33326(954) 525-2345map + directions
6574 North State Road 7, #349*Coconut Creek, Florida 33073(954) 525-2345map + directions
43 South Pompano Parkway #228*Pompano Beach, Florida 33069(954) 525-2345map + directions
1802 N. University Dr., #212*Plantation, Florida 33322(954) 525-2345map + directions
1908 Southeast Port Saint Lucie Boulevard*Port St. Lucie, Florida 34952(772) 918-9823map + directions
3986 South Tamiami Trail*Venice, Florida 34293(941) 214-9786map + directions
© 2023 Lawlor, White & Murphey. All Rights Reserved.Disclaimer.Site Map.

954-525-2345

Español