FAQ: Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Accidents in Florida
July 12, 2020
Uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance protects Florida drivers in the event of an accident with a driver who either doesn’t have insurance or doesn’t have enough. Drivers are able to purchase this coverage as a part of their own insurance policy. Below, we answer commonly asked questions Florida drivers ask about whether or not they need this type of coverage as well as how to use it.
Do I Really Need to Have Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
You are not required by law to have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. However, statistics show that more than a quarter of all drivers in the Sunshine State are uninsured, highlighting how important it is to have this kind of coverage.
What Does Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage Cover?
Your uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage will help offset the expenses that the negligent driver’s insurance coverage is unable to pay. As such, these include:
- Lost wages from being unable to return to work
- Pain and suffering
- Future loss of earning potential if you cannot return to work
- Current and future medical expenses resulting from the accident
How Much Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage Should I Get?
In Florida, drivers are required by law to have at least $10,000 in personal injury protection insurance and property damage liability. The amount of coverage you should purchase is based entirely on how much bodily-injury liability coverage you purchase. For example, if you have $30,000 in bodily-injury coverage, you are only able to purchase up to the same amount in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
What’s the Difference Between Stacked and Unstacked Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
Stacked uninsured motorist coverage is when you combine the uninsured motorist coverage with each vehicle you own, resulting in a greater total of coverage should you get into an accident. If, for example, you own two cars each with $25,000 in uninsured bodily injury coverage, you could claim up to $50,000 to help cover medical expenses resulting from the accident. To find out what your coverage limits are, you can call your insurance company directly or refer to the declarations page of your insurance policy.
Unstacked uninsured motorist coverage, on the other hand is when you don’t combine the amounts of coverage.
If you have questions about your uninsured and underinsured motorist accident, the team at Lawlor, White & Murphey can help.
Contact a Fort Lauderdale Personal Injury Lawyer to Discuss Your Uninsured Motorist Accident Case in Florida
Did you or a loved one sustain a serious injury as a result of a car accident in Florida? Don’t let the medical bills pile up while you wait for the negligent party or their insurance company to do the right thing. Right now, you need an aggressive personal injury attorney on your side, fighting to get you the compensation you need, want, and deserve. The skilled attorneys at Lawlor, White & Murphey represent clients who have been injured in car accidents in Broward, Dade, Palm Beach Counties, and throughout Florida. Call 754-226-1474 or fill out our online contact form to schedule a free consultation about your case. We have an office conveniently located at 2211 Davie Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312 as well as offices in Pembroke Pines, Weston, Coconut Creek, Pompano Beach and Plantation.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.