Find Out if You Have a Case

Schedule a Free Case Evaluation

How’s Florida Doing with Distracted Driving? Not Well

April 26, 2018

How's Florida Doing with Distracted Driving? Not Well

April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month in Florida, and law enforcement officials work hard to educate the public about the number of deaths in Florida each year due to distracted driving. Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem like their effort is doing much good.

Below, we’re going to take a look at some alarming statistics, cover distracting driving in more detail, and well you what you can do if you are hit by a distracted driver.

Florida Distracted Driving Statistics

Remember what month is Distracted Driving Awareness Month? That’s right. April.

What Does It Mean to Drive Distracted in Florida?

Distracted driving is defined as taking your eyes off the road, taking your hands off the wheel, or taking your mind off driving. Common driving distractions include:

Texting while driving can result in a ticket if you are pulled over for another traffic violation. Lawmakers have been pushing to ban texting while driving in Florida, but the most recent bill didn’t pass the state senate.

What to Do If You are Injured by a Distracted Driver

Florida has specific laws governing car accidents. Here is what you need to know if you decide to file a claim for compensation against a distracted driver.

Statute of Limitations
You must file a claim within four years of the accident to be eligible for compensation under Florida laws.

Pure Comparative Negligence Rule
Your compensation amount may be adjusted according to the pure comparative negligence rule. The court will look at both parties in the accident to determine percentage of fault.

For example, if a distracted driver hit you while you were speeding, the court may determine that you are 25 percent responsible for the accident. If the total award for your injuries is $100,000, you would be eligible to receive a maximum of $75,000 under the rule.

The other driver’s insurance company will probably raise the limit during the negotiation process. A skilled Florida injury attorney can explain how the rule applies in your case, and what options are available to you.

No-Fault Car Insurance
Florida requires that every driver carry $10,000 in personal injury protection insurance. This means that even if the accident is 100 percent the other driver’s fault, your insurance will pay for the first $10,000 of injuries or property damage.

However, if you experience serious injuries, you can file for more compensation. Serious injuries include:

Consult with an experienced personal injury attorney to know if your injuries qualify for additional compensation.

Damage Limits
Florida courts have set limits on the maximum amount you can claim for non-economic damages such as pain and suffering. Check with a skilled attorney to understand the limits for your case.

Fort Lauderdale Car Accident Attorneys

No matter what your specific situation, if you were hurt by a distracted driver, you deserve fair and just compensation, and that driver needs to be held accountable for their actions. Start fighting for your future today by reaching out for a free consultation.

About the Author: 

Since 1994, seasoned litigation and trial lawyer Anthony B. White has helped thousands of accident victims seek damages due to injuries sustained as a result of another party’s negligence. Included in America’s Registry of Outstanding Professionals and selected to the 2012, 2013, and 2014 editions of Florida Super Lawyers, Mr. White specializes in car accidents, insurance disputes, wrongful death, product liability, and medical malpractice cases. He is a longstanding member of the Florida Justice Association and the American Association for Justice and currently sits on the Board of Directors of the Broward County Justice Association.